Mini Berry Crumbles

Steph’s off galavanting around Europe with the parentals, and my subconscious misses her so much that I bought enough produce for the two of us. So I decided to put my excessive amount of berries to good use in the form of  crumble. I opted for mini crumbles to make an ideal 4th of July BBQ dessert. My batch however has been eaten (by moi), so these lil guys won’t be celebrating. I’m a big fan of fruit-based dessert – pies, crumbles, tarts – maybe because in my head I’m satiating my sweet tooth with nutritious fruit, not dessert. Mind games, my friend. Powerful mind games. I used raspberries and strawberries for my mini crumbles, but these would be delicious with blueberries, blackberries (or a combo), even apples, peaches or plums. If you’re looking for a vegan recipe, I bet a substitution of honey instead of  butter for the topping would achieve a similar crunch. Maybe next time…when my roomie’s back to share the batch.

Ingredients
(makes 8 mini crumbles)
1/2 cup oats

1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 stick butter
1/4  tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup brown sugar

Raspberries

Strawberries

2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp lemon juice

Steps
Preheat over to 350 degrees
Dice the fruit, drizzle with lemon juice and vanilla extract (if you’re making 2 fruit varieties, split the liquid between the 2)

Combine the oats, flour, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon in a medium sized bowl

Melt the butter and pour over the oat mixture, stir until chunks form
Line muffin tin with cupcake liners (I used tin foil because we were out of liners)
Fill each muffin tray halfway with fruit


Top with oat crumble

Bake for ~25 minutes, until tops are golden brown

Cool and serve, alone or with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream

Leave a Reply

